Here is legitimately how I did it, no exaggeration. I sent the following message to all of the contacts I wanted to keep (or something similar, I don't have access to the message anymore):
"Hey, I'm leaving Facebook permanently. I only use the chat function anyway, and I don't want to use it given their business practices. Here's my phone number, email, signal, and XMPP. Pick one, I don't care which."
And then I logged off for a month, logged back on, and deleted my account. I wasn't sure if they'd still get the message if I deleted my account after, plus I have ADHD and wanted to give myself a chance to remember anyone else I wanted to keep in touch with. I lost one person in the move, and they weren't someone I talked to that often anyway.



